Fireworks allowed in limited parts of SLO County

Thursday, June 23rd, 2016


July 4th ‘Safe and Sane’ fireworks allowed in some areas

– Many residents and visitors will be celebrating the nation’s independence this July 4th. Cal Fire and San Luis Obispo County Fire urge extreme caution during California’s drought emergency. It can take hundreds of thousands of gallons of water to control a large wildfire, according to Cal Fire.

All fireworks (use, sale, possession) are illegal in San Luis Obispo County. There is zero tolerance for the sale and use of fireworks. Violation will result in a misdemeanor citation with a $2,000 fine.

The only exception is state regulated “Safe and Sane” within the following jurisdictions:

San Miguel Community Services District
Templeton Community Services District
City of Arroyo Grande
City of Grover Beach
Oceano Community Services District
City of Morro Bay, (on private property)

The use of all fireworks is prohibited in all other areas of San Luis Obispo County. The public is encouraged to celebrate our nation’s independence by attending a professional fireworks display.

Public fireworks displays will be held at:

Paso Robles – July 2, Paso Pops
Pismo Beach – Pier at dusk
Cayucos – Pier at dusk
Santa Maria – Santa Maria Fair Park at dusk


About the Author